• About Me

    I'm Amanda, a 21 year old Florida girl. I'm a student at the University of North Florida, where I'm majoring in Journalism. I love music, the beach and driving. My friends are my family, and I love hanging out at the movies, the hookah bar or a rock show. I want to pick up as many useless talents as possible and to travel the world taking pictures and having good times with my best friends. For more information about me, view my About page.
  • Twitter Me

  • Pictures

  • Contact Me

    AIM: imthatflagirl
    E-mail:

Putting my nose back to the grindstone…

Well, I am back. I spent last week in beautiful Crescent Beach, just south of St. Augustine.

beach1
Tell me that isn’t the most glorious sight ever.

beach2
The first thing my family and I did was put our bathing suits on and go for a walk on that pretty white sand.

beach3
That’s me with Mom and Sis. Doesn’t Mom look cute? She was so happy to finally get a vacation. She didn’t get one at all last year.

beach4
Monday night, we went to dinner at the Oasis, where I ordered this beast. I’d heard that the place’s burgers were good; they’ve even won local awards for them, and I am a firm believer in testing restaurants’ reputations. So I had to try one. This one, the Aloysius Burger, sounded interesting. “Topped with grilled ham, three cheeses, lettuce, tomato and onion on a kaiser roll.” Ham and cheese on a burger? It sounds crazy, but, hey, I was feeling adventurous.

beach5
Apparently, I was also hungry. This is one of those pictures I despise my sister for taking. For the record, the burger was good enough, but ham really has no place on a burger.

beach8
On Tuesday, we spent the morning on the beach. Later that afternoon, we went to the European Village Resort. Apparently, some entrepreneur got the crazy idea to recreate a European square as a resort/tourist attraction. It was… quaint? It had good restaurants, at least.

beach11
I would so much rather be in Europe.

beach12
Sis and I spent a lot of time laying out. She demanded that I take a picture of her as she became a shade darker.

beach14
She makes a lot of demands. This poor boy, Kevin, chooses to put up with them. I don’t understand.

beach15
I guess it helps that they’re rather alike. Silly geese.

beach16
Thursday, we went to St. George Street, a row of shops in these old buildings near the fort. I love St. George Street. It has so much character. And so many interesting little stores.

beach17
Thursday night, we went to the Conch House for dinner. We got to eat in one of the tiki huts over the water. Despite the hurricane force winds that threatened to blow our dinner away, it was quite nice. The food was amazing, as always. Look at Mom and Dad. They’re so happy to be on vacation.

beach18
My sister decided to put one of the flowers they decorate the plates with in her hair. She decided that she felt like a Hawaiian princess and demanded another picture. Look how classy she looks, though. Isn’t she pretty?

beach19
…Yeah.

beach20
Friday night, we made s’mores! I love s’mores. Look how happy Sis is to be making s’mores.

beach21
I made a really, really gooey one, and it got everywhere. I had to go shower after we were done, because it was in my hair. This is another of those pictures I don’t like my sister for taking.

beach22
But then Kevin made a mess, too, and I felt a little better.

All in all, it was a good trip. I had a lot of fun. Although I did not come back anywhere near as relaxed and rejuvenated as I would have liked… at least I had a good time. And now… it’s back to the daily grind. Tomorrow, I’m going to orientation for my summer job. Ew. We’ll talk about that later; I’m going to keep going through vacation pictures.

Leave a Reply

